Workers’ compensation can be great for workers whose injuries on the job have caused significant losses. In Florida, most companies are required to carry workers’ compensation insurance. There are some important matters to understand before filing, however.
Statute of limitations
You must report your injury to your employer within 30 days of the incident or within 30 days of the discovery of your condition. If you report the injury or condition after 30 days, you risk a claim denial. From there, you have two years to file for workers’ compensation benefits.
Florida is somewhat unique in that its workers’ compensation laws allow for your employer to replace you during the duration of your disability; it is possible you may no longer have your job when you are ready to work again.
If you qualify for workers’ compensation, you may receive medical benefits as well as one of three types of other benefits. These other benefits include temporary partial disability, temporary total disability and impairment benefits. The percent of job wages you collect will depend on the state of your disability and whether you are able to perform partial job duties. Impairment benefits, for example, occur when your injury results in a permanent disability.
If the insurance company denies you
Know that you are not without options should the insurance company deny your workers’ compensation claim. You and your attorney can file a lawsuit a number of viable reasons. It may be, for example, that the diagnosis given by the required doctor was wrong or that your wages were miscalculated.